nanowrimo · Progress update · Writing process

NaNoWriMo: Weeks Three and Four Progress Update

Hi guys, so you didn’t hear from me at all during week three of NaNo which was because I finally started my new job! Which is pretty exciting but it meant I was super busy trying to get everything organised and keep on track with NaNo.

Week three was actually the first week I fell behind because of having to get up early for work and commute, so even though I was able to squeeze in some writing time on the train I found I was just totally exhausted when I came home! I do actually really enjoy writing on trains and I tend to use my tablet which is a Nexus 10 along with a really lightweight bluetooth keyboard and a stand from Pound Land to keep it propped up because I am a really classy lady who settles for nothing less than the best.

So basically week three consisted of a lot of scrabbling together a few hundred words here and there whilst shovelling breakfast into my mouth out of a tupperware box and trying to keep my novel somehow shielded from the person sitting next to me to avoid being judged while writing a smutty scene (sadly I only wrote one). I also managed to attend a couple of local write-ins which have been a massive motivation booster, especially since I did fall behind by a couple of thousand words last week.

I got to 48,000 words before I ran out of plot and had to comb back through to find places where I really needed to add in some extra scenes–luckily I found plenty of opportunities to do so because this draft seems to be pretty thin on the ground in some places and I think that’s due both to the fact that I planned so heavily and that I have been drafting so quickly!

Anyway I am so excited and proud to say that I officially won my first ever attempt at NaNoWriMo!

Seriously guys I am so amazed. You remember when I said I was maybe kind of thinking about aiming for 30,000 words?! I honestly never thought I would get this far and I am so so glad I gave it a try and so proud that I actually stuck with it!

I mostly stuck pretty closely to my outline and I think this could be why I didn’t really encounter any huge stumbling blocks, because it all panned out pretty much the way I thought it would. But along the way I have realised a few changes that I will definitely need to go back and make when I re-draft. Overall I think I am pretty happy with the way this draft has turned out but it has ended right on 50,000 words so I am hoping that when I make my edits it will end up being a bit longer. At the moment my plan is to set it aside for the month of December to get some distance from it and pick it up again in the New Year.

Do you guys have any tips for editing your NaNo projects? What do you NaNo veterans usually do in December? I’m not sure what to do with my free time now!

Thank you so much for all the support I have received on here, this has been a wonderful experience and I just cannot tell you how happy I am to have woken up on December 1st having completed the first draft of my first novel! Eek!!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: Weeks Three and Four Progress Update

Leave a Reply

