Productivity tools · Progress update

Space-Making

This week my word count has been climbing pretty slowly. My best day was Sunday when I wrote 830 words between 9am and 10am; interestingly that work was done downstairs at the dining room table rather than in my Dad’s old office where I usually work. On Monday and Tuesday I failed to do any writing in the morning and therefore failed to do any at all. I am keeping track of all this information in my Writing Log which looks like this:

imag0587

Sometimes I forget to fill it in but I am hoping that it will help me to work out where and when I am likely to be most productive.

Although my (new and very exciting) whiteboard says my goal for the week is 3,500 words I am not sure this is the best way for me to measure my progress. I am aiming to complete a draft of the story I am currently working on by the end of the month and ultimately I have no idea how many words it’s likely to come to when it’s finished; so far it’s just over 5,000 and I suppose it’s getting towards the halfway point.

At the moment I am using my cork/whiteboard to map out my main goals while keeping a more detailed to-do list in my Bullet Journal. On some days I have been writing up a schedule to try to keep myself on track but filling it in is kind of a chore and I’m not sure whether I will keep this up in the long term.

I have managed to cross a few more things off my list this week: I am now the proud owner of a bicycle and yesterday I had my first ever driving lesson! I know that twenty-four is a bit late to start but my sister seems to think this will help me learn more quickly. I must admit however that things are lagging behind on the job-search front. The lovely weather just makes it seem far less urgent somehow (though glances at my dwindling bank balance have the opposite effect).

What tools do you guys use to keep track of your writing habits? Do you measure your progress through word count goals? Do you use any visuals in your workspace to keep an eye on things? I would love to know! Thanks for reading.

3 thoughts on “Space-Making

  1. Being honest, I’m a bit of a wreck when it comes to writing. I pick it up whenever I have the time of day, which is usually after a bitter, black cup of coffee in the morning and another cup of the same coffee in the afternoon. I’d never be able tow keep up a schedule like yours though!
    Also, if I might know, what genre are you writing in?

    Like

    1. Hah, to be honest my writing tends to go that way most of the time despite my “schedule”!
      That’s a good question and one I would like to know the answer to myself! I suppose the story I’m working on right now is along the lines of the absurd. What about yourself?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

